NON-CONVENTION CARD CHALLENGE!

Many SU Demos have been in Chilly Canberra this weekend for the annual Stampin’ Up! Convention.  Unfortunately I couldn’t make it.  A forum I am on had a non-convention goers card challenge, among many other fun challenges.  Thanks Tanya for organising this!!

This is the sketch that we had to create a card.  I like this sketch.  It is very simple.  I might be using it for some upcoming workshops! 

cardsketch1

This is the card I created.   I was inspired by this card by Claire.  I loved how she used the Baroque Motif swirls on the background.

pict1148

I have used the faux silk technique for the rose.  First I stamped the rose image from Embrace Life in stazon on white tissue paper.  Then I watercoloured the rose with the stamp pads and aquapainter.  Leave it to dry for a short time and then scrunch up the tissue into a ball.  Carefully unwrap the ball.  Adhere the tissue to white cardstock.  For the card I stamped the Baroque Motifs swirl with choc chip ink onto choc chip cardstock.  I scalloped the edge of Ruby Red card and adhered a piece of the Raspberry Tart DSP onto this before adhering both to the choc chip card.  I used mounting tape to mount the faux silk image.  The greeting is from the Level 1 hostess set, Best Yet.  I inked up the words with markers and used the Large oval and the new Wide oval punch.  I was really pleased how this turned out. There are so many other projects Tanya has set for us, but I think I will be trying these over the next couple of weeks. This week is turning out to be very busy.

One thought on “NON-CONVENTION CARD CHALLENGE!

  1. Love the card Jenny – esp the Faux silk, that looks just awesome! Glad you guys had some stamping fun while we were away…..can’t wait to share all the news and show you all our swaps and goodies too!!
    Promise you’ll join us for Convention 2010 in Sydney ok??

Leave a Reply

