I’VE BEEN MAKING BAGS!

I have been making up a few different Christmas bags recently.  This one I showed at some Christmas workshops.  It is a very simple Scallop Circle Bag.

I cut 2 Scallop Circles with the Big Shot from Jolly Holiday DSP.  I cut off 10 scallops across the bottom to create a flat edge.  To create the box inside I cut card 15cmx10cm.  (I cut this from Cherry Cobbler but sorry you can’t see that!)  On the 15cm side I scored it at 3cm and 9cm.  On the 10cm side score at 3cm and 7cm.  Cut up on the score lines on 2 opposite sides until it reaches the score line running across.  Place adhesive on these tabs and assemble.  

For the bag: Punch ovals from the scallop circle before assembling, it is much easier.  I found it helped to add some dotto to the scallop circles to hold them together and punch them out together.  That way the ovals line up.  Place Sticky Strip on the wrong side of the DSP.  Then adhere them to the box.   I found it easiest to lay these pieces with the Sticky Strip facing up and lining up the bottom edge of the box with the straight edge of the scallop circle.  Does that make sense???

The ‘Joy at Christmas’ is from Perfect Punches set.  I punched the circle with the 1 3/8″ punch and then punched a scallop circle from Old Olive which I sponged the edge with Old Olive ink.  I adhered this to the bag with mounting tape and added a  Rhinestone.  I then tied on some Old Olive ribbon.  This is a nice size for some choccies or a gift card for Christmas.

I have some other bags for you that I will show you next time so pop back soon!

3 thoughts on “I’VE BEEN MAKING BAGS!

  1. This is a gorgeous little bag Jenny, it’s just what I need for some extra school helper gifts, thanks for sharing your measurements.
    Don’t you just LOVE Cherry Cobbler, it’s such a wonderful Christmas colour. I have used all I had here & am patiently waiting for some more to turn up 🙂
    Tanya xox

  2. This bag has the awwwwwwwwwwwww factor. I think it’s the design and the DP!! I concur wholeheartedly with Tan and andrea in saying that CC is one of the BEST colours ever for SU!!!! (esp for Chrissy!!) Who would not love seeing this special little bag under the tree for them? ooxx

Leave a Reply

