NOW A CHRISTMAS BOX!

I have shown you some bags for Christmas.  Here is a Christmas box I have been working on.  I found the instructions here.  I will add the metric measurement for this at the end of the post.

Before I assembled the box and ran the So Swirly wheel around the bottom edge.  I stamped the tree from ‘Christmas Classic’ in Soft Suede on Very Vanilla Cardstock and the Merry Christmas in Real Red.  I stamped the flourish from ‘Tiny Tags’ in Crumb Cake and sponged the edges.  It gives it a Vintage feel.

Here is a view from the top:

The top is a scallop square cut with the Big Shot, then I ran the card through the Big Shot again with the Vintage Wallpaper Die to add the texture.  I tied up some of that lovely striped Grosgrain ribbon and added tags from the ‘Tiny Tags’ set.

Here are the measurements:

TALL SCALLOP SQUARE BOX

Cut card 21cmx28cm. Score on the 21cm at 6.3cm. Score on the 28cm at 6.3cm, 12.8cm, 19cm and 25.4cm. With the long side running horizontally, cut up on each of the short score lines until they meet the score line running across. On the small tabs place your adhesive on the wrong side of 3 of the tabs. Also, place adhesive on the right side of the narrow tab on the side. Assemble your box

For the lid. Cut a scallop square with the Big Shot. Score on 2.3cm on each side. Cut up on the small tabs on 2 opposite sides. Place adhesive on these tabs and assemble.

UPDATE:  The lovely Lynda asked about how to create the lid without the scallop square die.  I have had a little play and come up with some dimensions for you. 

Lid (without Scallop Square Die)

Cut card 12.6cm.  Scallop the edge of the card.  TIP:  Punch opposite sides of the card first.  Then go back and do the other sides.  It doesn’t matter if the corners don’t match as they will tucked inside.  Emboss the card with the embossing folder of your choice.  I used the vintage Wallpaper Folder.  Score card at 2.2cm on each side.  Cut up tabs up to the score line running across.  Place Sticky Strip on the tabs and assemble the lid. 

You probably have your Christmas wrapping all sorted by now. So you could use this box for any occasion.  But if you are like me you still haven’t got the wrapping done.  That’s my children’s job this week!!  They’re going to love that!!

 
 
2 thoughts on “NOW A CHRISTMAS BOX!

  1. What a beautiful Festive looking box Jenny. The mind boggles with the things you cld fit in there!!! It looks sooooooo goooooooood. One Q tho….for those of us without the Scallop Square Die, what is the rough dimensions of the lid?? Cld go round the edge with the Scallop border punch for a similar finish (altho it’s not the same!!) Thanks for sharing the m’ments….cause as you said…not everyone is as organised as they should!! 😉
    Thanks for dropping by my blog and commenting too. I am still upright and doing OK. Have had a low on the thing…..and it flatly refuses to do anything unless you have a juice or something!! I guess it’s the pump’s version of “Computer says NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!”
    If I don’t catch you before hand….have the Merriest of Chrismases. ooxx

  2. Hi Jenny! This is great! Love it! And … I’m sure that Lynda could try this with the scallop border punch! Jenny will fix it for you Lynda … she will get the measurements … I am sure! 😀 Merry Christmas hunny! Thanks for the gorgeous card that I received in the mail today! Hugs xxaxx

Leave a Reply

