THE CARD THAT NEARLY DIDN’T HAPPEN!!

Do you have days when a card just doesn’t come together??? When anything you do, doesn’t go right and you have to redo it??? Do you look at the card and think “I just don’t know what is wrong”???  This was one of those cards.  It has just taken me 2 days to complete it.  I think I have redone every part at least once!  Maybe the heat was getting to me.  Well, I finished it!  I could have tossed it so many times but I was determined to see this through.

It started out as a card for this week’s sketch challenge at Inkspirations.  I had been wanting to try the faux tile technique and thought this would be good with this sketch.  After stamping and colouring (twice!), I cut the card up to 1″ squares and realised they were too small for the challenge.  I tried to make it work and it  just wasn’t happening.  So, I gave up on the idea of it for the challenge but wanted to complete the card – eventually getting there!!  Enough of the sorry saga you just want to see the card.

The flowers from ‘Elements of Style’ were stamped in Stazon on Very Vanilla  card measuring 3″x3″ (7.5cmx7.5cm).   They were then coloured using the Pretty in Pink, Regal Rose, Certainly Celery and Always Artichoke Markers.  I spritzed the card with the Crumb Cake marker, then cut it in 1″ (2.5cm) squares.  I then covered the squares in Crystal Effects to give it a glaze.  It is a bit hard to see in the photo.  You need to leave it overnight to dry properly.  It was after I covered it in Crystal Effects I realised I should have sponged the edges.  I just touched them up a bit with the Crumb Cake ink.  I then adhered the squares to a Certainly Celery mat and then Pretty in Pink. 

For the card base I stamped the swirl from the stamp set in Crumb Cake and sponged the edges.  I redid this 3 times.  The first time it didn’t come out right.  The second time I realised I cut the card wrong.  (That’s ok, I have used that on another card!)  This card opens upwards, so I wrapped around some Victoria Lace around the bottom edge.  The label is cut with the Big Shot in Pretty in Pink and the edges sponged.  I  had to do that a second time too!  The greeting is from “Fresh Cuts”.  (Thats a set I haven’t used for a while).   I stamped it in Pretty in Pink onto Very Vanilla and punched it out with the small oval punch.  The edges were sponged in Pretty in Pink too.  I adhered them with mounting tape and stuck some Adhesive pearls on it.  Phew!! I WAS DONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I couldn’t even think about doing the inside of the card then. 

Sorry about the ramble.  I hope you kept up with all that!  That was a marathon card.  I have another card that I made later while I had all the stamps and ink out.  I will show you that tomorrow.  I’m done.  It’s exhausting just reliving it!!!!!

Take some time to stamp today – you deserve it!

Jenny xx

4 thoughts on “THE CARD THAT NEARLY DIDN’T HAPPEN!!

  1. Well done Jenny. It looks great. I have days like that all the time at the moment! I’m sure you feel satisfied that you stuck with it & got it finished.

  2. Wowsers jenny. I am SURE we have all had cards like this…but truth be told i LOVE the way this one turned out. I got EOS for SAB last night and have mounted it….now I am BUSTING to ink it up!!! I love the mix of vintage and faux tile.
    Stay cool (we have JUST hit 40 degs here at 2.40PM) and i think the ink will evaporate if I got it out….LOL. FAB card and it prooves the perserverance pays. ooxx

  3. Hi Jenny I think your card looks lovely . think the colours go nice
    together, I am going to try faux tiles also one day.
    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

