‘EXTREME’ POP-UP!!!

I have wanted to try a Pop-up card for a long time but it seemed like a lot of work.  Then a lovely friend, Marilyn, showed me how you can make them using the Word Window Punch.  This looked so much easier.  Now I can’t find that original blog where it was from, but there are a few around I discovered.  You use the Word Window punch to create the slots that enable the card to pop-up.  I could explain how to do them but you could head over to Jackie’s blog here and she has a photo tutorial that explains it. Saves me repeating it all! 

Here is my card.  I showed this as a demonstration at a workshop last week.  The hostess wanted some Masculine type cards and wanted to see the Extreme sets.   I used the Extreme Elements Set and Extreme Guitar.

This is the front of the card.

Colours used are Night of Navy, Real Red and Old Olive.  I used the Modern Label Punch for the greeting which was from Teeny Tiny Sentiments.  The small star is stamped on some scrap and cut out and raised with dimensionals.  I distressed the edges a bit for a bit more masculine look.  I added a silver brad is from the HodgePodge Hardware on a punched out large star.

Here is the Pop-Up inside.

From the side you can see the Pop-Up. (Sorry I didn’t realise there was such a shadow on the card.  I think you get the idea though!)

Isn’t this so cool!  I have to try some more of these.

I will give you the measurements for this card.  This is in metric.

Outside card is 29.6cm x 10.5cm scored at 14.8cm on the long side. The front panel is 14.4cm x 10.1cm.

Inside card is 28.8cmx10.1cm scored at 14.4cm on the long side. 

Just to give you an idea.  On this inside piece, I marked in pencil on the scored line at 3.3cm and 6.6cm.  I also marked my Word Window punch at the half way point.  This mark I lined up on the scored line with the pencil mark on the card showing in the middle of the punch through the punch window.  Does that make sense???  This gives you a fairly accurate place to punch then.  Your centre piece that pops up needs to be wider than the opening so it covers the pop-up section from showing.  On this card the Red mat measures 6.4cmx8.4cm and the Whisper White piece measures 6cmx8cm.

If you wanted to open the card horizontally you would use the same principle, but the Pop-Up would be wider so you need a wider image.

These are so much fun to create. You have to go and make one!

Have a good day,

Jenny  xx

 

2 thoughts on “‘EXTREME’ POP-UP!!!

  1. Rock on Jenny darl!!!! This is awesome and thanks so much for providing a link. So easy it ain’t funny. I also have diff versions on a theme in mt crypt, but this is by far the easiest and a great wat to start out I think. The masculine vibe is brilliant. TFS the metric. Always easier for us in the Southern Hemisphere!! Take care of you. ooxx

Leave a Reply

