ALL ABOUT THE BOX!!

Last post I showed you the Black and White box I created for the Just Add Ink Challenge this week.  I thought I would show you now how I put all the elements together.  (As if you really want to know!!!)

This is the box.

A Black and White Box!!

I will go through each part.

BOX:

I used the box template on Keesh’s blog here.  This is how I made it.

Cut your card 21cmx21cm.  On one side score your card at 3cm, 9cm, 12cm and 18cm.  You should have 3cm left on that side.  Turn your card and score at 3cm in on both sides.  Cut all the score lines on the long side up to the score line that runs across.  Fold on your score lines.  (Before you assemble the box you need to stamp/emboss first as I have done.  I will explain that lower down**).  To assemble your box add Sticky Strip or Snail adhesive to the small tabs and adhere them together.

**Before assembling my box I stamped the swirl from Baroque Motifs in versamark and then clear embossed it.  You can see it a bit clearer in this photo.

Close up View.

BOX BAND:

The box band was done in Whisper White card measuring 21cm x 8cm.  I used the Polka Dot Embossing Folder.  It was too long to run through all at once, so I placed half the card in the folder and ran it through. Then I turned the card over.  I lined up the last line of dots on the card with the dots on the Embossing Folder and  ran the card through.   I wrapped the card around the box with the ends underneath the box.  I ran some sticky Strip on one end to join them together.

THE FLOWER:

To create the flower I stamped the swirls from ‘Baroque Motifs’ with Staz On on Whisper White card and punched out 3 scallop circles with the 2 1/2″ Scallop circle punch.  I scrunched them up several times to distress them.  I layered them together.  I find the Tombow Glue to be the best to adhere them together.  The whispy black centre was created with the Black Grosgrain ribbon.  Cut a small length of the ribbon.  Grab one end and start pulling a thread.  One end will pull more easily than the other, so if it doesn’t work try the other end.  Once you have a thread then grab it and pull for a bit to fray the ends.  Stop before you reach the end!!!!!

Here is a photo to give you an idea.

I used a glue dot to stick the end of the ribbon into the centre of the flower.

 RIBBON CURLS:

The white ribbon curls are created with the White Organza ribbon.  Use the heating Tool to GENTLY heat the ribbon.  The heat will make it curl up.  Don’t heat too long or it will melt the ribbon.  (How do I know that!!!! LOL).

Here is a picture to show you it curling up.

I did 3 short lengths and adhered them on top of the band with Sticky Strip before adding the flower.

ASSEMBLING:

I assembled everything directly onto the band.  First the ribbon curls, then some black leaves punched from the 2-step bird punch, then the flower.  The tags were created from the set “Lots of Tags” stamped in Basic Black and punched out with the tiny tags punch.  I tied them with cotton thread and adhered them with a glue dot just under the flower.

There you have it.  I think I included all the parts.  Have fun creating your own.  If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Thanks for stopping by,

Jenny xx

4 thoughts on “ALL ABOUT THE BOX!!

  1. Ta so much for the heads up Jenny. I have made Keesh’s boxes before….but mine are nowhere near as spectacular as yours!!! I love the look of this so v v much. Well done. ooxx

  2. What a nifty suggestion about the ribbon! I did not know that!!! Does it work with any other ribbon? Thanks for your call this morning! Big hugs xxaxx

  3. Pingback: RAZZLEBERRY DOILY BOX!! « A Stamping Journey

Leave a Reply

