MOTHER-OF-PEARL SAIL AWAY!

I thought with school going back this week that I would have lots of time to get back here, but I don’t know what happened.  Here it is the end of the week already.  I wanted to show you another card I have made using the fantastic stamp “Sail-Away”.  This one I created a couple of weeks ago for a workshop I did.  This is a great technique to use with this set and is so easy.  Here is the card.

If you are not familiar with the Mother of Pearl Technique, then I will describe how to do it below.  For this card, I used the sanded backkground on the Cherry Cobbler.  The greeting is from “Teeny Tiny Sentiments” and punched out with the Modern label Punch.  To stamp the boat I used Black Staz-on.  It is really important to use Staz-on as it is Gloss Card.

Here are the instructions for Mother Of Pearl Technique.  It probably would have helped to have some photos to help BUT I didn’t think of that this time.  So I hope you can understand it.

MOTHER OF PEARL TECHNIQUE

First off,  you need Gloss cardstock, white shimmer paint and a small piece of cling wrap.

I poured a small bit of shimmer paint onto some acetate.  You could use a plastic plate or even the plastic cases from your stamps. (you can easily wipe this off them when you are finished).  You don’t need a lot.  A little goes a long way!  Scrunch your piece of Cling Wrap into a ball and lightly pounce the ball onto the shimmer paint to pick some paint up.  Lightly pounce the ball onto the piece of Gloss cardstock.  You don’t want to completely cover the card, just in patches.   (Hope that makes sense!!).  You need to let the paint dry.  You can use the heat tool to speed up the process if you are impatient like me 🙂  Once dry you can sponge ink over the card.  (On this card I sponged with Baja Breeze). Then polish the card with a tissue.  This really brings out the shine.  Here is a close-up of the card.  (Not all that clear really, but I hope it helps a little).

Here is a stepped up version of the card.

On this one.  I scrunched up the Basic Black cardstock before adhering it to the card.  But before adding this I punched out the sentiment with the Curly Label Punch and adhered this under the Black piece and added some twine.

Using this technique I created another card which I shall show you next time.  Thanks for stopping by and please say ‘Hello’.  It’s nice to know I’m not talking to myself here.

Until next time,

Jenny x

One thought on “MOTHER-OF-PEARL SAIL AWAY!

  1. Clapping my hands today….SU order just showed up and I now have this stamp!!!!! Let the CASEing fun begin…LOL!!!
    Jenny this card is awesome…but doh…no shimmer paint…. Love the offset squares and the total masculinity of it all. BRILLIANT. ooxx

Leave a Reply

