ONE FOR THE BOYS!!

Yesterday I had my Card Class where we focused on cards for the boys.  Masculine cards are usually hard for everyone to do.  We can’t tizz them up with ribbon and bling like we do for the girls cards.  So in this class we created 2 cards and a tag.  For the boys cards sometimes we need to focus on using different techniques, add distressing and inking and you can replace the ribbon for twine.  I wanted to show you one of the cards we did in the class which was very popular.

The original card idea came from Linda here at Polka Dots and Paper.  Now I couldn’t find the card when I went back to it, but this is her original card.

I liked the idea of the embossed foil and creating the spanners with punches.  How neat is that!!!  So, here is the card we did. I simplified it a little from the original.   It was a bit hard to take a photo as you kept getting the reflection off the foil, but I think you get the general idea.

To create the foil mat, adhere regular kitchen aluminium foil to a piece of card.  I used Whisper White.  Then run the piece through the Big Shot with the Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder.

Then you can create your spanners.  I played around with the punches for a bit to get the right sizes.  Here are the punches used: Boho Blossoms Punch, 3/4″ Circle Punch, Word Window Punch and 1″ Circle Punch.  The strip is a piece of Crumb Cake card measuring 8cm x 1.3cm.  This was scored at 1/2 cm on the back to create the groove.  All the pieces were sponged with Soft Suede ink along the top edges.

The greeting from Teeny Tiny Sentiments was stamped in Soft Suede and punched out with the Word Window Punch, and then a piece punched out with the Modern Label Punch.  The spanners were raised up with dimensionals.  The aluminium piece was adhered to a Soft Suede mat and then Crumb Cake base.

Now I have to add that in last night’s class I had a couple of late cancellations, so instead of cancelling it Sarah dragged, bribed, or brought willingly her hubby along.  (I’m not sure which one of those it was!!!).  He was such a good sport though and even joined in.  He has a card done ready for his Dad for Father’s Day.  Well done Trevor, you did a great job.  Thanks for joining in.

I really shouldn’t be here right now.  We have our school fete on this Sunday.  I am nowhere near ready.  I haven’t done nearly as much as I wanted to and we have a family 60th today. So I better get moving.

Stop by again soon.  I love you visiting my world.  Add a comment to let me know you have been.

Have a good weekend,

Jenny

5 thoughts on “ONE FOR THE BOYS!!

  1. Soooooooo love these Jenny….I feel a CASE or 2 coming on….tee hee hee. This is such a rocking idea. Popped over to the link…love her ideas. Have fun with the fete and I hope you get sorted for the 60th. ooxx

Leave a Reply

