“SPARKLY TREE”

This post has been a while in the making.  I can explain and you might understand!!  A couple of weeks ago I had my ‘Christmas Bling Class’ and we did some fun cards using bling in different ways.  Christmas is a great time to go overboard with the ‘bling’.  I might show you some of the cards we did later, but this particular card got some attention.  This is a card I had as a sample but everyone wanted to know how I did it.  As time is running out to fit in another class, I promised them all I would do a tutorial on my blog AND now you can all benefit too.  So, finally here it is.  Now what has taken so long is that I needed to recreate the card to get some step-by-step photos.  Well, as what normally happens, it just wasn’t coming together right.  So I have had to redo the card AGAIN.  So ladies, I hope you appreciate this 😉

This is the original card. It is hard to see the sparkle in this photo but the whole tree panel is all sparkly!  Read on to find out more.

This glitter panel is created with Heat and Stick Powder and Dazzling Diamonds.  This really adds an impact – I think!  I am going to outline how to do this technique if you are not familiar with this.   Now I am a bit of a lazy stamper so I will also let you know a cheat step at the end.

Before you start here are some helpful tips:

Make sure you have a sticky versamark pad.  It really makes a difference.  That was where I went wrong when I first recreated this card.  I realised I was using an old Versamark pad and it was a bit dry.  Also, have your powder and Dazzling Diamonds ready to go so you can apply them straight away.

So, here you go:

GLITTER PANEL TUTORIAL

You will need:  Your stamped image, A versamark stamp pad, Heat and Stick Powder, Dazzling Diamonds, Heat tool.

1. Swipe your card firmly with your stamped image with the Versamark Pad.  Be careful to just touch the sides of your card with your fingers so you don’t wipe off any versamark from the card.

2. Pour over your Heat and Stick.  Yes, you want a good coverage!

Tip off the excess and tip the extra back into your container.  Heat the Heat and Stick with the Heating Tool to melt the powder.

3. While the Heat and Stick is still hot and melted pour over your Dazzling Diamonds.

Pour off the excess back into the container and Heat set again with the Heat Tool.

4.  The glittery panel is done.

CHEAT TIME:

Sometimes I cheat a bit to save time.  You can combine the Heat and Stick and Dazzling Diamonds in a container about equal amounts.  After you swipe your card with versamark then tip the mix over your card and heat it all in one go.  It does work although it may not be as sparkly!

And so for the finished card:

Psst! See the dark green behind the card.  That is my wall in my craft room.  It is a bit darker than in real life.  I have just taken photos of my craft room when I tidied up recently so I am going to post those soon.  We all like to spy on other stamping areas don’t we? So stay tuned for those very soon!

Anyway, here is a close up of the finished card.

Oooh! Sparkly!!!!

Now it is your turn.  Why not have a go at this technique yourself.  Send me a photo of your card.  I might show them off here.  I look forward to seeing them.  Maybe I will have to dig up some blog candy!! 🙂

See you soon,

Jenny x

3 thoughts on ““SPARKLY TREE”

  1. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOoo sooooooooooooooooooooooo pretty Jenny!!!!!! Now before I go to far….did DH have any part of this card to his credit??? (hee hee hee)
    I have H & S powder but have never used it…so ta for the tute. Also have LAAT too….so no excuse not to CASE this card!!! Love it…..heavenly Hayward. ooxx

  2. Pingback: “SPARKLY MIXED BUNCH” « A Stamping Journey

Leave a Reply

