“EVERY MOMENT” WATERCOLOURING!!

After my frustrating attempts at watercolouring a few weeks ago I was determined to give it another go.  I was not going to be beaten!  I pulled out my stampset “Every Moment” which is a good one to colour.  I received this set from Sydney Regionals 18 months ago and it hadn’t seen ink since! (is that bad????).  It’s not that I don’t like it, it’s just that I have so many other stamps to use (and I get a bit lazy when it comes to colouring!)  Now I used several different mediums in my attempts and different types of cardstock to see what I came up with.  I tried the pastels, markers and inkpads using the blender pen and aquapainter and I tried it on whisper White cardstock, confetti White and Watercolour paper.  So this is my final attempt.  Let me say Number 6 attempt!  Sorry you are not going to see the other attempts.  They looked like a kindergarten child had coloured them.  They were not good believe me.  They are now neatly filed in our paper recycling bin to be off to a new home!  LOL

So here is the final card.

With this one I used the inkpads and aquapainter.  Using watercolour paper is a must I think. I built the colour up in layers.  I remembered this was a trick they showed us at Regionals when we used this set.  Picking up the colour with your aquapainter you brush a light wash over the area you want coloured.  So for the bird I gave it a light wash in Baja Breeze.  Let that layer of colour dry.  It only takes a little minute.  You can move onto another area to work on while you let that dry.  Then come back to the first area and give another wash in certain areas.  This will give a darker colour.  Then later apply another touch up in certain areas you want highlighted.  Does all that make sense???  I think I added some highlights in part with the fine tip of the marker like on the reeds and the bird’s head.  Once this was done I assembled the card.  The card is CASED on a sample card from Regionals.  The Baja Breeze mat was embossed with the Vintage Wallpaper Embossing Folder.  I added linen thread and a Vintage Brad to finish it off.  The sentiment is from ‘Curly Cute’.  So I think I was happy with this attempt.

Thanks for looking.  As far as my swap count goes.  Well,  I haven’t fully completed any cards this week.  I have had so much else going on.  But I have 20 more cards cut and stamped ready to go if that is anything.  Hopefully I will have some time to put them together this weekend.  I am not sure when that is going to happen exactly though!! So the count still stands at 35.

Have a good weekend.  I hope all the Mum’s have a lovely Mother’s Day on Sunday and get spoilt.  Stop by and visit again soon.  I love to see you have visited.  Don’t forget to say ‘Hi’

Jenny x

2 thoughts on ““EVERY MOMENT” WATERCOLOURING!!

  1. If only u cld see me standing and applauding you Jenny!!! I love this to bits. The colouring is beautiful. I too have (finall) gotten out my Bordering on Romance flourish and watercoloured it in the same manner as you. It does give such a soft and wonderful finish. You h=card has such a softness and sence of love to it. Well done.

  2. Oooh! Did you get your cards put together??? I do love this little watercoloured bird. Good on you for persevering, my friend! Well worth the effort! Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

