CARDS FOR CANCER!!

A few weeks ago I held a ‘Cards For Cancer’ Event.  I wanted to raise some much-needed money to support the work of the Cancer Council.  They do a fantastic job providing support for people affected by Cancer and for their families.  They are also involved in Cancer Education and Research and rely heavily on the support of the community.

We had a great day at my ‘Cards For Cancer’ event and Stampin’ Up! were very generous with their donations for this.  My goal was to raise $500 and  I was so excited to be able to hand over $770.90 to the Cancer Council last week. Thanks to all the wonderful ladies who came along.

 I wanted to show you some of the fun we had on the day.  Unfortunately it was late in the day that I thought to take photos so I missed photos of us playing silly games.  (I’m sure everyone who were there was glad of this!!!).

Firstly, I will show you the ‘Thank-You’ bags I made up for everyone.  I got the idea for these bags from a bag I saw on Becky Roberts blog, I think????  For this I used the ‘Ribbon of Hope’ stamp.  This is a great little single stamp in the current Catalogue.  I used the Lunch Sacks for the bags.  The DSP is from the Prints Paper Stack in Pretty in Pink.  I tied them up with the Pretty in Pink Taffeta ribbon or the white Organza ribbon.

Inside I had a roll of ribbon, a small chocolate and a teabag.  What, a teabag you say.  That’s interesting!!  Here they are.

The original idea came from a swap I received at our Team meeting recently.  I can’t tell you who that was from though.  I didn’t have the ‘Tea Shoppe’ set that they had used though so I used the ‘Take a Sip’ wheel.   I rolled it in Soft Suede ink onto Crumb Cake card and then cut some of the cups out individually.  I coloured some parts of the design with a Soft Suede marker.  I punched out a tag with the small tag punch and stamped different images from the ‘Tiny Tags’ stamp set in Soft Suede.  I took off the original tag on the teabag and then attached the string of the teabag onto the new tag with a dimensional and then adhered the cup on top.

Here are some photos of them all creating.  I had 20 lovely ladies along and we all just fitted into my dining room.

This group was under the spotlight.  I had to end up getting another light up as it was getting darker.

So what were they all creating???

I will show you the projects next post.  I promise it will be in the next few days so stay tuned.

Thanks for stopping by,

Jenny x

2 thoughts on “CARDS FOR CANCER!!

  1. Lynda always beats me here! What a wonderful day you had, Jenny … and congrats on the $$$ raised. You little thank you gifts were very sweet! Take care. Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

