A 16TH BIRTHDAY!!

I know I said I would show you some Pop-Up cards from our recent stamping weekend but I have to interrupt the posting.  I hope you don’t mind.  🙂  Yesterday was Josh’s 16th Birthday.  He has been hanging out for this day for so long.  It means now he can get his Learner’s Permit to drive!  I wanted to show you the card I made him – and Carlie’s cards she made him.

Josh is really in to Vinyl records at the moment.  Now I have to say, I thought they went out years ago.  Apparently they never left.  Anyway, we bought him a record player for his Birthday and he has been collecting records.  He is in to Hardcore music. Now it is not just any records.  It is cool for them to be coloured.  When I went looking for inspiration for his Birthday Card I came across a card on Pinterest that I thought would be great.  (Seriously, how much inspiration is there on Pinterest!!).  Anway, I digress again.  I tracked down the original card here by Gill.  I changed this around a bit to suit Josh’s card.  I created coloured records and added a ’16’.  By the way, Josh thought it was really cool.  He already has a green record along with all the other colours he has.  A pink one is on order and he will be getting a blue one soon.  Isn’t it great when you make a card, especially for the male species, and they take note of the details.

So, here is the card.

The circles are punched out with the 1 3/8″ circle punch and the black centres are punched with the 3/4″ circle.  I punched the centres of the black circles with the Crop-A-Dile.  The coloured circles are sponged and spritzed just the way they would be on the records.

I have to show you Carlie’s card she made too.  I think she did a fantastic job and she did it completely by herself.

Carlie has used a retired stamp set ‘Play Ball’ and some retired Brilliant Blue and Orchid Opulence Cardstock.  The balls are stamped in Crumb Cake.  Don’t you love the splodge effect from ‘Extreme Elements’???

Carlie wanted to make another card too and I have to show you.  She drew this one and I think it is very clever.  (Big Brother said it was “the best”!!)

On the front of the card it says “I love you this much….”.  Now this is a standard card size to give you an idea of the size. I will show you it opened up.

It is a bit hard to see the picture but she made it on a HUGE piece of paper and it just opens out and out and out….  It shows her long arms outstretched.  I thought she was very clever, and very special, to make this for her Big Brother.

Ok, Thanks for indulging me in a little personal family post.  I will get back to the Pop-Ups next post.

See you next time,

Jenny x

3 thoughts on “A 16TH BIRTHDAY!!

  1. Loved reading about your cards & Josh’s interest in vinyl records! Gav still has a pile! Or did we throw them out in the last cleanup??? GREAT cards … All of them! Nice that Josh appreciated the effort that Carlie went to for him! Hugs xxx

  2. Firstly…congrats Carlie!!!! Your card is AWESOME!!! Love the stretchy arms. Jenny….the way you have paid homage to the LP’s. Brilliant, talented Hayard Women!! ooxx

Leave a Reply

