VELLUM SWALLOWTAIL!

I held a class a couple of weeks ago using vellum.  I think everyone loved the projects.  I will show you them eventually but I first wanted to show you this card.  This was a card I made as a sample of one of the ways of using vellum.  I used the Swallowtail stamp from the Seasonal Catalogue.  I love this big butterfly.  I am so glad it has made the new annual Catalogue.  I plan on doing a lot more with this one.

P1080345           P1080342

I love the 3D effect with this.  It was purely unintentional but I like it!

I have used the Stained glass technique.  I stamped the Swallowtail stamp with Stazon on Vellum then coloured the back of the image with Pumpin Pie Marker almost to the edge of the image.  (Be sure to colour the back to give it a softer effect).  I used the Aquapainter to lightly blend the colour out at the edge and that lightened the colour.  I coloured the antenna with Black Marker also. I cut the butterfly out when it dried (that didn’t take long) and it curled up a little.  I was a little disappointed at first but then thought it added dimension to the image. I cut down the right side of the butterfly to fit the Whisper White mat (which I had already adhered to the Black mat and to the Pumpkin Pie Base card).  I adhered the butterfly on the right side and under the antenna and added a couple of glue dots under parts of the left hand edge just to adhere it down in places.  I added some Linen Thread and the greeting is from Petite Pairs.

I hope you like the effect.  I was pleased with how it turned out.

Some more vellum projects soon so stay tuned.

Hope your staying warm and dry for those on the East Coast of Australia.  It is wet AND cold!!!

Jenny 

2 thoughts on “VELLUM SWALLOWTAIL!

Leave a Reply

