A NEW DESIGNER TOTE BAG!!

I have been wanting to create another Tote Bag for a long time but I haven’t had a chance – until now!  The ‘Large Tote Bag’ has been my most popular post over the last 2 years but I wanted to freshen it up.  Here is my new Tote.  Below I will share all the details for you.

P1110771

Here are a few other views. 

I have used the lovely Venetian Romance DSP and Baked Brown Sugar Cardstock.  I added the Soft Suede Candy Dots to the tabs.  They match in so well I think.  I added a flower to the top to hide the join.  I will tell you about that below.  The greeting is from ‘World Treasures’.  I coloured the words with markers (Baked Brown Sugar and Crisp Canteloupe) and cut around the inside of the border.  I cut a piece from Baked Brown Sugar with the Apothecary Framelits and layered this under the greeting and then cut another in Crisp Canteloupe and cut this one in half to layer underneath.

Let’s move on with ‘HOW TO MAKE THE TOTE BAG’ 

The original post for the Tote Bag with step-by-step instructions is HERE.  These are in metric.

** Edited to add: I have since updated that post to have Imperial measurements as well.

If you would like the tutorial emailed to you then drop me a comment.  

Let me tell you the modifications.

1. Omit the card strip for along the bottom edge.  Punch 2 circles in Baked Brown Sugar with the 2 1/2″ circle punch. Cut them in half.  You then have 4 pieces.  Fold each one in half and then adhere these to the corners of your bag.

2. For your handle, Omit the 2 card strips and the steps to prepare your handle.

Cut 2 pieces 3.5cm x 25cm (1 3/8″x10″). Join the 2 strips.  Adhere the handle to each end of the bag.  I used Sticky Strip for strength.  Cut small tabs to add to your handles.  Cut 2 pieces 4cm x 3cm (1 5/8″ x 1 3/8″).  Round the corners on the bottom edge.  Adhere these to the ends of your bag.  Add the Candy Dots or Brads for decoration. (If you are using Brads then place them on your tabs before you add the tabs to your bag).

3.  For your Bag Closure: Cut your card 5cm x 16cm ( 2″x 6 1/4″).  Punch one end out with the Scallop Tag Topper Punch.  Adhere the other end to the back of your Tote Bag.  Gently bend the closure over and mark the point on the front.  Place a Brad on the front to that will hold your closure.  I used a Candy Dot on a Brad.

4.  To cover the join in the handle I added a punch flower.  I punched out 3 flowers using the Pansy Punch and curled them a little.  Join these together by overlapping a little and adding Sticky Strip.  Add a small flower punched from the Boho Blossoms punch.  Adhere a large Adhesive Pearl to the middle.

I hope you like this version.  I hope you can go and make a Tote Bag yourself.  I hope the instructions are clear.  If you have any problems then please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Have a great day. 🙂

Jenny

28 thoughts on “A NEW DESIGNER TOTE BAG!!

  1. Love the tote! Made one similar years ago and still have them! I like the use of the Tag Topper Punch for your clasp and this designer paper is so handsome! If only I could take it to work lol!

  2. Will say it again Jenny….I LOVE this bag!!!!
    If you wld pls be so kind to send it in imperial…..I wld v v much appreciate it.
    It is truly a GENIUS creation. ooxx

  3. Hi Jenny. I Love this bag also. I would love it if you would send me imperial instructions also. Thanks. Georgia Egan

  4. Love this tote! My math is terrible so if you could send me the measurements in inches I would appreciate it. It would be awesome if I got them yesterday to use for a bithday gift Friday (May , May 8th.) Thank you, Shari

  5. Pingback: LARGE TOTE BAG TUTORIAL!!!! | A Stamping Journey

  6. Pingback: LARGE TOTE BAGS ARE ALL THE RAGE!!! | A Stamping Journey

  7. I absolutely love this bag I don’t know how you come up with such good ideas
    please can you send me an email with the tutorial connie

  8. Pingback: FAVOURITE 5 FOR 2015! | A Stamping Journey

  9. Hi Jenny! Wow what a bag. I see you made the tote bag larger! Thats great! I’ve never tried to make a bag, but yours looks fabulous! Can you please send me copy of the tutorial? I’d love to try it. Thanks so much..Michele

Leave a Reply

