BIRTHDAY STEP CARDS!

Last week we had a stamp day with my stamping buddies Leonie N, Andrea and Tracey.  They are always good times.  I have been wanting to make the Block/Step cards you might have been seeing around the blogosphere. I had a chance to make them that day. So here are my versions, then I will share you the link to the instructions.

Firstly, using ‘Amazing Birthday’ stamp set.

P1140117

I used the DSP ‘Sweet Taffy’.  Isn’t it cool?? I love all the bright colours in this pack.  A little brightness and sparkle makes for a HAPPY Birthday.

Now another version. This time for the menfolk. I used the ‘Amazing Birthday’ set again and also the ‘Traveler’ set.

P1140114

I have also used the new In Colors – Mossy Meadow, Hello Honey and Tangelo Twist. I stamped the background on the Mossy Meadow cardstock BEFORE assembling it!!! 😉  Then I stamped the other images separately and cut them out and adhered them on.  I added a silver button and a Linen Thread bow.

Now for instructions.  There are a few tutorials you might find but I found this one on Libby’s blog. Check it out here. Click on the link just a little way down to take you to the template.  I just changed it slightly.  Since our Australian card size is longer, instead of cutting the cardstock to 28cm x 10.5cm, I made the length 29cm.  Which meant I didn’t have to add the extra little strip (10.5cm x 2cm) to join the block card.  So I scored the card on the long side at 3.5cm, 7cm, 10.5cm, 14cm, 17.5cm, 21cm, 24.5cm and 28cm.  Cut and assemble the box as it says in the template. I just added Sticky strip along the small tab that was left on the end and adhered it together.  Hope that all makes sense.  I do love making these.  They are fun.  Now I have done these two I will make some more again soon.

Thanks for stopping by,

Jenny

2 thoughts on “BIRTHDAY STEP CARDS!

  1. Love these versions Jenny. I so have to try one….(sigh) one day……also DESP need that Traveller set….ugh!!! Awesome wk as usual darl ooxx

Leave a Reply

