RECTANGULAR GIFT BOX!

I was playing around the other day and created this Rectangular style box. I was inspired by some packaging we received on something we bought.  I liked the design so I tweaked it to fit our Australian size cardstock.  Here are the boxes I made. Keep reading too for the tutorial to make your own.

P1140380

 

A Cherry Cobbler box ready for Christmas.  I used the ‘Bright and Beautiful’ Stamp set and embossed one of the gorgeous stars with Gold Embossing Powder.  I cut this out and one in Gold card with the Star Framelits.  I coloured a Rhinestone with the Cherry Cobbler Blendabilities.  BEFORE assembling make sure you stamp the cardstock.  So much easier!  The greeting on this box is from the ‘Good Greetings’ stamp set.  This is the Free set you can get this month when your party sales reach a minimum or $300.  This set is very useful with greetings for all occasions.

The Island Indigo box might suit the men in your life.  On this one I stamped the seaweed from ‘By The Tide’ with White Craft Ink.  The shell was stamped in Pool Party and the Seahorse in Calypso Coral.  I stamped the verse on each side of the box with Island Indigo ink.  For the Burlap trim I cut a length and cut off the sewn edges.  I then frayed the edges by pulling out some of the thread.  I used one of the threads to tie off on the Silver button.

Here they both are individually.

P1140381 - Copy     P1140387

Here you can see how the end flaps fold in.

P1140412

So do you want to know how to make one yourself.  Here you go.

RECTANGULAR GIFT BOX TUTORIAL

(Finished size is 10cm x 4cm x 7cm)

1. Cut cardstock METRIC:  24cm x 20cm.  On the 24cm side score and 4cm, 11cm, 15cm and 22cm.  On the 20cm side score at 1cm, 5cm, 15cm and 19cm.

                            IMPERIAL: 9 1/2″ x 8″.  On the long side score at  1  1/2″, 4  5/16″, 5 7/8″ and 8 5/8″.  On the 8″ side score at 3/8″, 2″, 6″ and 7 1/2″ (NOTE: I haven’t tested these measurements yet so I do hope they are correct! Let me know if I am wrong.  There are some odd measurements!)

Here is the template.  (This has now been updated).

P1140404

2. Cut off all the shaded areas.  Cut up on the tab lines (filled in line).  Where I have marked “Trim Down” I cut these tabs down shorter.  These are the tabs you fold in on the ends and then I angled the tabs to fold in more neatly.  I hope that makes sense??

3. Fold on all the scored lines.  Stamp the cardstock as you like before assembling.

4. Add Sticky Strip along the narrow tab on the right hand end (the underside).

5. Assemble by lining up the edge of the tab with the Sticky Strip to the other end.  Then fold in the flaps on each of the ends.

Hope this all makes sense.  Please ask if you are unsure.  Enjoy making them.

Jenny

4 thoughts on “RECTANGULAR GIFT BOX!

  1. Pingback: NEW YEAR CREATING WITH BUTTERFLY BASIC! | A Stamping Journey

  2. Pingback: CAROLS OF CHRISTMAS – DAY 5! | A Stamping Journey

Leave a Reply

