NEW YEAR CREATING WITH BUTTERFLY BASICS!

Happy New Year to you all.  I hope you have had a lovely Christmas and New Year celebrations. We had a really nice family time.  I love these special moments.  I have been in my craft room the past week though.  I can’t keep away.  I have a number of projects to share with you over the next week. It has been so nice to ink up some new stamps.  Today I thought I would show you a little gift box I have just made.  This is using the new Bundle ‘Butterfly Basics’.

P1150789       P1150788

 

I have used Coastal Cabana.  I cut a butterfly from the butterfly Dies from Whisper White and one from the silver foil sheets.  (Read below for some tips for cutting out these little intricate dies). I sponged around the edge of the white butterfly in Coastal Cabana.  The strip under the butterfly is vellum which I have embossed with the Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder and then flagged the ends.  The little postage stamp is heat embossed with silver embossing powder.  I added a strip of Rhinestones to the centre of the butterflies for some bling.

For the box I recreated the little box I showed in a post some time back.  You can find all the details HERE.

BUTTERFLY DIES CUTTING TIPS

These butterfly dies are very intricate and like similar ones you might have a few problems cutting them out.  I thought I would share my tips in cutting them to have a nice clean cut.

1. Use baking paper between your die and cardstock. You may have to also add a scrap piece of copy paper to aid the cutting further. So lay your card down on the bottom Big Shot cutting plate, place a piece of baking paper over the card, top with your die face down then add the scrap piece of copy paper. Place the top cutting plate over it.

2.  When running through your Big Shot you might want to run back and forth a few times.  I found I needed to run it through about 6 times.

I had several attempts playing around with this die to cut well.  After some frustrations (and maybe some mumblings under my breath!), I found this to be the best result.  The butterfly lifted almost cleanly off the die.  I just used the Paper Piercer to start popping it in the holes and lift it slightly and then it would lift off quite easily.  See how you go trying this but do persevere as it is such a beautiful die and combines so lovely with the Butterfly Basics stamp set.

I look forward to sharing more projects with you so stop by again soon,

Jenny

2 thoughts on “NEW YEAR CREATING WITH BUTTERFLY BASICS!

  1. My butterflies arrive next week and I can’t wait! They’re adorable in pretty card stock colors, as well as sponged with tips of color on Whisper White, and imagine them in gold and silver foils and Glitter papers! Wow! A great addition to our Framelits!! Happy New Year Jenny!

  2. Gorgeous! Can’t go wrong with Coastal Cabana. Would love this die … but already have a butterfly die … cos I got sick of waiting for SU! to give us one! Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

