FAUX SHAVING CREAM FLOWER!!

I have always been fascinated in the Shaving Cream technique but I haven’t got around to trying it. I think it is the mess!  The shaving cream and reinkers and ….. Just too hard!  SO, when I came across THIS technique on Splitcoaststampers a few weeks ago when I was looking for a different technique for a class, I thought I could really try this one.  Here is the card I made.

P1160643

The layout for the card was INSPIRED from Deb Currier from artfeltcreations.com.  I changed a few things around and I created the Shaving Cream flower.  I loved the effect.  Here is a close-up. (OK a little blurry!)

P1160646

I don’t usually share a tutorial for the Technique Classes I do but this technique is so cool I just wanted to share this with you my lovely readers. Of course, you can read about it at the Splitcoaststampers link above too.  It is a bit like the Kissing technique if you have tried that.

SHAVING CREAM TECHNIQUE

1. Choose 3 co-ordinating ink colours. I have used Daffodil Delight, Tempting Turquoise and Melon Mambo.  I found the darker colours didn’t blend well and just looked messy 🙂

You will also need 2 stamps: One solid image stamp and one patterned stamp.  I have used the flower from ‘Crazy About You’ and the honeycomb pattern from ‘Butterfly Basics’.

2.  Ink up your solid image stamp with the lightest colour. Don’t stamp it on your card yet.

3. Ink up your patterned stamp with one of the other ink colours. Press it on to your solid image stamp and give it a slight twist.  Clean your patterned stamp and ink again in the same colour.  Press on to your solid stamp on the other part of your stamp and give a little twist.  See the photo below.

P1160660

4. Clean your stamp again and ink your patterned stamp with the other ink colour.  Turn your solid image stamp 1/4 turn.  Then press your inked patterned stamp on to the stamp and give a little twist. Clean your stamp.  Ink it again in the same colour and stamp on the other part of your solid image stamp and give a twist.

P1160663

5. Now give your solid image stamp a little huff to re-moisten the stamp and then press on to your piece of card.

P1160667

It gives a really cool effect.  Don’t you think???

I really loved the effect so I made some tags up using this technique for our team swaps last week.

P1160671

Here is a close-up.

P1160727

So why not give this technique a try.  It is so cool and each time will work out different.

Have a happy, stampy weekend 🙂

Jenny

2 thoughts on “FAUX SHAVING CREAM FLOWER!!

  1. Pingback: FAUX SHAVING CREAM BUTTERFLY! | A Stamping Journey

Leave a Reply

