VELLUM BIRTHDAY BLOSSOMS!

On a Facebook group I am on they recently set a little game.  It was a Tic Tac Toe Board.  Pick 3 items in the one row to make your card.  I thought that would be fun.  I took a little time out from my regular creating to have a go.  I will show you the card but first I will tell you the process I went through in making this card.  Maybe it will help you when the MOJO has gone out the window. 🙂

Firstly, I selected the 3 elements from the Tic Tac Toe Board to include on my card.  I chose Birthday, Flowers and Red.  That’s half the battle right!!  Well I pull out all my flower stamps – and there are quite a few.  I really wanted to use one of the new ones. OK, Birthday Blossoms, Definitely Dahlia or Garden in Bloom??

The colour was already chosen.  I don’t often use red except for Christmas but I chose Cherry Cobbler.  I love the richness in this colour. I knew I wanted to white emboss the vellum too.  Just an idea I had.

How to put it together though?? That is what sends me undone and generally I just put it all aside in the “too hard” basket.  I contemplated things for a little while and wondered what to do. When the ideas weren’t really coming together for a card I thought … Why not look at a card sketch.  I went to Pinterest and I have a board for Card sketches. You know you can actually use the ideas you pin not just PIN them to a board!!! 😉 Straight away I looked at the board and found what I was after.

So here is the sketch I worked with. It is from this great site HERE. I like the simple sketches.

CTS_130

Here is the final result.

P1170158

I used Birthday Blossoms Heat embossing the small blossoms in White Embossing Powder onto the Cherry Cobbler card.  The larger flowers were heat embossed in white on vellum and then punched out with the Pansy Punch. To get the curve on the card I hand-drew a curvy pencil line on scrap paper until I was happy with it.  I cut that out and then used that as a stencil on the Cherry Cobbler card.  I lightly drew the line and then cut this curve out.  I was happy with the result of that.  It really could have gone any way!!

The greeting was stamped in Cherry Cobbler onto Thick White Cardstock as a card base. I added some large Adhesive pearls to the centre of the flower and finished it off by wrapping some White Baker’s Twine around the card a few times. I did stamp the inside with the blossoms in Cherry Cobbler and one of the greetings in the set.  I didn’t take a photo of that.

I hope explaining the process might help you next time.  I will try and remember that myself 😉

Have a great “stampy” week.  I will be back to share more soon.

Jenny

2 thoughts on “VELLUM BIRTHDAY BLOSSOMS!

  1. Pingback: FAVOURITE 5 FOR 2015! | A Stamping Journey

Leave a Reply

