GLOBAL DESIGN PROJECT #GDP009

I know I am in the middle of sharing my stamping weekend projects with you but I have been so busy with Christmas cards and making projects for the upcoming fairs that I wanted to break out and make something else today.  I thought maybe a challenge!!!!

Challenges are great to take part in as they really extend your creativity and makes you think and try new things.  What challenge to do though??? I had the Global Design Project email fresh in my Inbox so why not have a go!! I haven’t had a chance to play along with these challenges at all yet – so TODAY WAS THE DAY!

This week’s challenge was a Colour challenge with the colours – Tip Top Taupe, Mint Macaron and Watermelon Wonder.  Well that takes care of the colours but you still have to work how what to do for the card.  What stamps? What techniques??  So many options.  You could choose another challenge to join in with as well if you like but I wanted to do some watercolouring. Here is my card that I came up with.

peacock - Copy

I dusted off my ‘Perfect Peacock’ stamp. Do you know this was the first time to ink this up.  (Don’t tell anyone!).

I washed over the Tip Top Taupe, Mint Macaron and Watermelon Wonder inkpads with the Aquapainter on to Watercolour paper. When that was dry I stamped the peacock in Versamark and then Gold Embossed this.  The greeting from ‘Petite Pairs’ was embossed in Gold Embossing Powder too.  I didn’t want to add too much to the card as it would take away from the beautiful detail in the peacock. So I just added some little banners in Gold Foil and the Gold Vellum from the ‘Winter Wonderland’ Vellum Stack.  I finished this off with a bow from the Gold Cord. I pierced some holes in the bottom right corner too as it looked a little bare. It was all adhered to a Watermelon Wonder card mat and Mint Macaron card base.  (They look so much brighter though in the photo!).

I hope you like it?? Now I will just head over to the site to add this. Pop on over HERE to the site and you can check out all the other cards that have entered – and why not have a go yourself!!!!

I will be back with more Weekend creative projects next time.

Jenny

6 thoughts on “GLOBAL DESIGN PROJECT #GDP009

  1. Jenny, welcome to the Global Design Project challenges! Your first entry is a stunner! The gold peacock look stunning against the challenge colours and the banners balance the whole thing beautifully. Thanks for playing at Global Design Project this week.

  2. Jenny – the watercolor effect adds such a nice texture. I’m so glad that you played along with this week’s Global Design Project Color Challenge. Thanks!

  3. The gold is a beautiful addition to the color palette. I love the way the peacock looks embossed that way with watercoloring. Thanks for sharing with Global Design Project.

Leave a Reply

