WORLD TRAVELER IN BERMUDA BAY!

When I was creating the other day I thought I would CASE a few cards from the catalogue for my upcoming Launch next week.  This card started out as a CASE of a card on page 39 of the Occasions catalogue.  It took a life of it’s own very quickly though.

This is the original card if you haven’t got your catalogue handy and then I will show you my card – and the thought process that went behind the making of it. 🙂

Occasions16_p39_a

IMG_20160120_175157

When I started to emboss with the World Traveler Embossing Folder I realised that the orientation of the World map on the folder was different to the card, and I didn’t want to double emboss the map to cover the card front. That’s what I would have to do to cover my size card front. I just couldn’t get my head around doing that.  To me that is not how the world map is depicted.  Petty I know but …. ??

So I thought I would change the orientation of my card but that’s when the whole card changed.  I didn’t have the ‘Going Global’ stamp set but I could use ‘Guy Greetings’. That’s all good. But now that it was landscape what was I going to put on the front? It needed more than just a greeting.  I stamped the anchor in Bermuda Bay but I couldn’t have it just floating there. I punched a tag with the Note Tag punch in Delightful Dijon. That colour was chosen after looking at the colours in the ‘Bohemian’ DSP.  I looped up some Linen Thread and tied it in a bow and adhered that on.

The greeting is from ‘Guy Greetings’ and I stamped that on a piece of Whisper White and flagged the ends.  But still it needed something more! I added a strip of the black arrow paper from the ‘It’s My Party’ DSP stack.  It still needed more!  I added just a strip of the silver Foil under the greeting.  I just finished it off by sponging some Bermuda Bay ink over the embossed edges. OK, I think it was done now. I was going to brush over some Wink Of Stella in the Clear but decided to leave it.

See how you can take a card and use it as a springboard to create a completely different card.  Sometimes you just need a little inspiration to get it going.

I hope I didn’t bore you with the whole creating process of this card.  It just shows you what goes into creating at times.  Maybe that will help you when you are in a rut.

Thanks for visiting today,

Jenny

2 thoughts on “WORLD TRAVELER IN BERMUDA BAY!

Leave a Reply

