WATER SPRITZING TUTORIAL!

A few weeks ago for Onstage I didn’t have an opportunity to make swaps to share with other demonstrators.  Life has been a little busy. 🙂  I did make a card for the Display boards though where you can add your swap cards or samples.  They are always so inspiring and is a big part of why I love to go.  It’s like a live Pinterest board!!!! 😉

I thought it was time to show you the card. This is a technique I have been playing around with recentlly. I don’t really know what the name of the technique is but I call it the Water Spritzed technique. I will show you how to do this below so read on.

This is my card I made for the board.

waterspritzed_Bythetide

You can see the little “splodges” in the ink where the colour has lifted. It creates a cool motley effect.  Here is how it is done.

WATER SPRITZED TECHNIQUE

1. Using Thick Whisper White or Shimmery white cardstock, heat emboss your images.  On these I embossed the coral and the fish with white Embossing powder.  I stamped the seahorse with Black Stazon.  It is important to emboss or to use the Stazon so the ink on the images don’t run when you spritz.

2. Use your first colour and sponge in patches over the card. I have used Bermuda Bay here.

P1180329

Then add your 2nd colour.  I have used Daffodil Delight.

P1180331

3. Fill in with your 3rd colour.  I have used Marina Mist I think.  It’s good to have 3 co-ordinating colours. Once you have sponged the colours on, use a tissue to wipe off the ink where the images are embossed.  This makes the embossing shine.

P1180332

4. With a spritzer with water or I use an old Stampin’ mist bottle, hold the bottle a little away and lightly spray the card.  You don’t want to soak the card just lightly mist.  You will see some of the colour start to lift.  Mist until you are happy with the coverage.  Keep the card level or you will start to have runs from the water running down. Leave the card aside on the table for a few minutes.  The longer you leave the card, the more effect you will get.  Finish off drying your card with the Heat Tool lightly.  You don’t want to melt your embossed images any more.

P1180334

You can now finish your card as you like.

Here is the first card I made using this effect. I have used Rose Wonder set. Thank you to my friend Leonie for showing me this technique.  We made this card at my last technique class too. I have heat embossed the images in white,  The inks I have used are Elegant Eggplant, Tempting Turquoise and Bermuda Bay.

image-6194

I made another card that day but I didn’t leave the water sitting on the card for long so it doesn’t have as much mottling.  I was a little disappointed with the colour combination. I used Watermelon Wonder, Mint Macaron I think and Lavender Lace. I thought I would show you the card anyway. This is using Birthday Blossoms.

image-6191

So how about you have a try at this technique.  Each time you do one it will turn out different. It’s fun.

Thanks for visiting me today.  Have a wonderful day/night.

Jenny

2 thoughts on “WATER SPRITZING TUTORIAL!

  1. Oooh! Recognised the middle one! Enjoyed playing with you at our stamping day! Love your On Stage card … colours are gorgeous. And … sample no. 3 is lovely … I think you just needed a little more Mint! 🙂 Hugs xx

Leave a Reply

