A COLOUR CHALLENGE AND FMS SKETCH CHALLENGE!

I had some ‘ME’ time stamping today.  It’s not often I do that as I am always preparing for classes or making cards for others.  So I indulged!!! 🙂

I really like joining in on challenges.  It extends your creativity and makes you think a bit. I saw the Freshly Made Sketches the other day and thought I wanted to have a go at it. Then I saw the new Colour Challenge on Pootles.  So I knew that they were my starting point.

I will show you my card, then I will go through some of the thought processes behind it.

So for Sam’s Colour Challenge this week it was Sweet Sugarplum, Soft Sky and So Saffron. Lovely subtle colours but I would never have thought to put them together. Thanks Sam! That’s what a challenge is for right. 😉

Here is the Sketch for Freshly Made Sketches #246.

FMS Final 246-001

This was the card I created.

Sunburst challenge for FMS

Let me tell you how I got to this point.

I already had the colours to use (sometimes that is half the battle!) and I had a sketch. Sketches really give you a plan to work with.  From there I went through my stamps to see what might work with these colours.  They were nice pastel colours so I thought flowers or butterflies.  I pulled out some of those sets and then found my Badges and Banners set. I wondered if this might work??

I then pulled out the cardstock for these colours and pulled out the DSP, ribbon and other embellishments I had.  I loved the Sweet Sugarplum paper in the Playful Palette DSP. I inked up the birdcage image in the stamp set in So Saffron.  I wiped off the ink on the bird with the Blender Pen and then coloured it with the Soft Sky inkpad using the Blender Pen again.  It wasn’t as bright as I would have liked after I stamped it.  I did go over it with the Soft Sky marker to lift it up.  I punched it out with the Best Badge punch.

The sentiment was stamped in Memento on Soft sky and punched with the Duet Banner punch.  The big question was what to make the tag shape behind the images from the sketch?? I pulled out a few of my Framelits and sized them up but they just weren’t working.  Then I saw the Starburst Thinlits.  Why not think outside of the box – or the shape??  I cut the starburst shape from the So Saffron.  It was a little big for what was needed.  I used the Layering Square Framelits.  I used my largest straight square and lined it up over the Starburst to get the right position.  When I cut it I just rolled it through in the Big Shot to just before the end of the frame, then rolled it back so it wouldn’t cut the end. Then I turned the Framelit and card piece.  Lined the card with the Square Framelit again and rolled it through stopping before it came to the end again. Then I had a rectangular shape.

It was a very quick case of just sticking it together. I finished the card off with a bow from White Baker’s Twine and an Adhesive Rhinestone.  So these colours could work together. 🙂

If you want to have a go at these challenges.  You can see the Freshly Made Sketch #246 HERE and go to Sam’s blog at Pootles HERE for the Colour Challenge (check out her other amazing creations while you are there!).

Thanks for visiting me,

Jenny

6 thoughts on “A COLOUR CHALLENGE AND FMS SKETCH CHALLENGE!

  1. Hi Jenny, I so enjoy your emails that I get. We were in Australia and New Zealand in 1989 for our honeymoon. It was so wonderful and beautiful. Thank you for all your amazing ideas. Clearly you have a passion and talent for what you do. Take care.

    • Thanks so much for your kind comments Diane. Sometimes I wonder when I post whether anyone actually reads them. 🙂 Glad you like them.

      I am sure you had a lovely time visiting Australia and New Zealand. They are both beautiful but so much to see in a short time. You will have to plan another visit sometime.

      Thanks again for visiting my blog x

  2. Pingback: A COLOUR CHALLENGE AND FMS SKETCH CHALLENGE! — A Stamping Journey | Simply Thoughtful Cards

  3. Such a cool card Jenny and GREAT for Sam’s challenge this week. Doffin’ my cap that you got one together…..even tho she has taken the colour procrastination out…..sigh….it is all too much….LOL.
    PS….I too read your posts!!! ooxx

  4. Thanks Lynda. Yes you are a very loyal reader and for such a long time. I think you need a medal. 🙂 Thanks for all your love x

    Yes it was made a little easier with the colours dealt with and then the sketch. Still some procrastination but it made it a bit quicker. Hope all is well xx

  5. Fun and fabulous card! The splattered background is such a cool look! Thanks so much for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches.

Leave a Reply

