HOLIDAY CATALOGUE BLOGHOP!

International blog hop Sep 1

International blog hop images

I’m excited to be a part of this International Blog Hop as we showcase some exciting new products from the Holiday Catalogue! Are you ready?? It’s just a small one but I think you are going to love these projects.  You might have come from Alexe‘s blog or just starting here.  Don’t worry you can hop anywhere.

For my projects today I am showcasing the Paisleys & Posies stamp set and the Paisley Framelits.  These new products are so fun and cheery.  I reckon anyway.

For my first card I thought I would create my own dry embossed background.  Here is my card and then I will show you how I have created it.

Embossed paisleys

The card is on a Thick Whisper White base.  See the background?  I have embossed the Dapper Denim card using the Paisley Framelits. 

To create the background lay the Framelits pieces on to your card making sure the cutting edge of the Framelits face up NOT DOWN on your card.  Position them as you like.  Here is a photo to show you.

Embossing with the thinlits

Run the piece through your Big Shot on the platform you normally would with the Framelits.  Just double check your Framelits are facing up before you roll it through. (I made a little mistake with this the first time!!).  You will see once you run it through that the pieces will be embossed. You could try this with a number of different Framelits.

Embossed card with paisleys

I didn’t want too much to finish the card off so it didn’t hide the embossed pattern. I just cut some Paisleys from Gold Foil Sheet.  The sentiment from Tin of Cards is Heat Embossed with Gold Embossing Powder and cut with the Tags and Labels Framelits.

I have another card to show you using the Paisleys & Posies stamp set. I called on a technique and colour combination I used a little while back.  It was good to pull this one out again.

Emboss resist Paisleys

This one is the Emboss Resist Technique. If you are not familiar with it, Stamp your images in Versamark on white card and then heat emboss in White Embossing Powder. Sponge over the card using your chosen colours.  I have used Tempting Turquoise, Elegant Eggplant and Bermuda Bay.  Once you have inked the card, rub over the card with a tissue to wipe off the excess ink on the embossed parts and you will see your images “POP” even more.  It’s quite magic.

I finished if off by tying around some Thick White Twine then layering it onto Perfect Plum card mat.  I found that a better match than using the other colours that I sponged with.  It was then layered on to a Thick Whisper White card base. Just a note too: I stamped my sentiment from Tin of Cards onto the card before stamping any of the Paisleys so I knew where to position them.

Hope you like these cards?

Now off to Amberlee’s blog HERE.  Enjoy your little Global trip.  🙂

If you get lost along the way then here are the blogs to visit.  (If the links aren’t working immediately just be patient and come and see again soon. Also you may wish to use Google Translate if you haven’t got a Translate tab on your computer).

Elizabeth Green

Alexe Guillemette

Jenny Hayward – You are here 🙂

Amberlee Batchelor

Jenny

7 thoughts on “HOLIDAY CATALOGUE BLOGHOP!

  1. Pingback: Welcome to the International Blog Hop – Tinker, Tailor, Sweater, Sigh!

  2. Thank you so much for the directions. I know the techniques but have yet to use the sets. This is a great starting off point! You’re a dear.

Leave a Reply

