SPECIAL REASON BIRTHDAY!

A Birthday is always a special reason for a card. 🙂 I needed to make a card for a friend of Josh’s who is turning 21.  There seems to be a run of these now.  I made 2 just in case!!!

I inked up the ‘Special Reason’ set for the first time.  I received this set for Prize Patrol from Onstage event last November.  I thought at the time “it’s another flower set!”. Being honest here. 🙂 But now I have seen some really sweet cards made with this set – and with the matching dies.  (I might have even ordered the dies the other day!).  Sometimes you just have to right. 😉

Anyway, to the cards.  This lovely young lady loves flowers so I thought this might be a good set for a card for her.  I teamed it with the Detailed Dragonfly Thinlits, just because. 🙂

sweet-sugarplum-21

The card base is Sweet Sugarplum.  The flowers and leaves from the ‘Special Reason’ set are stamped on Whisper White card in Sweet Sugarplum, Peekaboo Peach and Mint Macaron and the dots are stamped in Smoky Slate. I cut a “21” in Silver Foil using the retired ‘Little Numbers’. I felt it got lost on the card so added a tag in Peekaboo Peach which was was cut from the 2nd smallest label from the ‘Lots of Labels’ Framelits.  I sponged around the edge on that to make it stand out more.  To assemble the card I then adhered that to the card base and tied around some Silver cord (retired), and added a gorgeous detailed dragonfly on it which was cut from the Silver Foil.

I forgot to take a photo of the inside.  I just stamped a Happy Birthday greeting from the Tin of Cards set and added a small stamped flower in Peekaboo Peach.

The second card I made was very similar.

sweet-sugarplum-birthday

For this one, I tied around Whisper White Baker’s Twine.  The sentiment from the set is stamped in black and I have cut that from the small banner in the Home Sweet Home Thinlits.  It’s great for those tiny sentiments.  I cut one out also in Silver Foil and layered them together.  I added a Rhinestone as it needed something else.  Underneath the dragonfly on this one I swirled around some Silver Thread.  

sweet-sugarplum-_2

Before I could use this set I had to assemble it as it was a clear mount set.  As I was assembling it I thought I should take a video of what I do.  I know when I use clear mount stamps it can be frustrating when those pesky little stamps fall off your blocks.  Do you find that?? Some time ago I came across a way to keep those stamps on your blocks.  I have been doing it this way for the most part now and have had very little problems.

I have just uploaded it to Youtube but thought I would share it here.

How you can help keep those clear stamps on your blocks!!

I hope that might help you and stop some frustration.  Just saying!! 😉

Thanks for visiting.  I will try and get back sooner to share more with you.  I have been creating a lot but just haven’t made it to the computer yesterday.  It is summer holidays here and Mum’s taxi is working overtime!

Hope to see you again soon.

Jenny

Leave a Reply

