COLOUR INKSPIRATIONS CHALLENGE #2 – HOW TO TAKE ON A CHALLENGE!!

I had a play this past week with the Colour challenge at Colour INKspirations.  I have been enjoying taking some time out to take part in these challenges.  This was a hard one though.  I wouldn’t normally use these colours and certainly not that many together.  Here are the colours.

colour-inkspiration-_2

So what do you make of these colours??? All colours must be used!

Well this is the card I ended up with.

mint-carousel

Just a close-up of the horse because all horses are sparkly right?? 😉

mint-carousel-_-glittery-horse

HOW THE CARD CAME TOGETHER.

I thought I would tell you about the process in making this card as it might help you when you approach a Challenge – or just in making a card. You have 3 main parts when putting a card together: The stamp set, the colours and the layout.

Stamps: I just received the Carousel Birthday set so was keen to give it a try. That was the easy part!

Layout: I don’t know about you but I find it hard to just sit there and put together a card. I need some direction.  Often when I make a card from scratch I turn to a Sketch layout.  I have a number of them saved on a Pinterest board.  I went through these and found one that I thought would work well with the stamps. 

This was the sketch I used from ilovecardsketches.com (which I couldn’t seem to find the blog now).

ilcs04

So the stamps are sorted and the sketch is chosen.  Now the colours are already chosen so just put it together. Right! Still not such an easy feat!

Colours: I usually only work with 2 colours plus a neutral for most of my cards so to HAVE to use all these was hard. That’s what a challenge is for though.  To extend your creativity.  Now how to use them.

When there are a number of colours to use I find it helps to first pick a main colour.  One that will be predominant.  So in this case the Mint Macaron. I have used that in the card base, the Carried Away DSP, and touches on the horse. Then you use the other colours in smaller quantities.  Choose one colour that will be the next main colour in smaller amounts, which would be the Soft Sky.  Then I have added some touches of the Garden Green and Wisteria Wonder in very small quantities.  This will give you balance.

Finish the card: Then with all those sorted you can finish the card with the sentiment. Which I cut with the Project Life Framelits. Then add touches of embellishments.  I used a little Paper Doily for softness and then added some bling with the Rhinestones. I went over the horse with the Clear Wink of Stella.

Card done and entered just in time. 🙂  If you want to join in on these challenges or even just to look and see the cards then you can request to join the Facebook group HERE.

Hope you found this helpful when you go to make your next card.

Jenny

 

Leave a Reply

