FALLING PETALS SPOTLIGHTING!

This weekend I have had a play at this week’s Colour Inkspirations Challenge #05.  The colours we had were Blushing Bride, Soft Sky and Sahara Sand.

They are such pretty soft colours and lend themselves to cute baby cards or soft floral or even butterflies??

Recently I shared a card with you of a different way to use the Falling Petal Embossing Folder.  You can see that post HERE if you missed it.  I have wanted to play with this idea since then and thought I would try it out with this challenge.  This is the card I ended up with.

The lighting is not very good today.  It is wet and overcast so not the best.  Actually it has been torrential rain for the past week!

To the card:  The base card is Blushing Bride and the mat is Sahara Sand.  I embossed a Whisper White card mat with the Falling Petals Embossing Folder.  Tied around some White Baker’s Twine before adhering it to the Sahara Sand card mat and card base. I cut a piece of Thick Whisper White with one of the larger Layering Circles Framelits Dies and embossed it with the Falling Petals Embossing Folder.

On this circle piece I created some little flowers with the embossed hearts/petals.  I used the Sahara Sand Marker to first draw some lines from each petal to create the flower stems.  Then coloured each flower with the Blushing Bride inkpad and Blender Pen. Then with the Aquapainter I added a light wash with the Soft Sky inkpad around the flowers. Just a note: After giving it a light wash with the Soft Sky it did wash out the Sahara Sand stems so I went over that lightly again.  I went over the petals with the clear Wink of Stella pen too to add some sparkle but it is hard to tell in the photo.

This coloured piece was then adhered on to a Blushing Bride circle a bit larger. I then adhered it to the white card mat lining it up roughly in the same place.  This created a type of spotlighting of the petals at the top of the card.

The sentiment is from Birthday Blossoms and cut with the Project Life Framelits.  I added some small adhesive pearls to the sentiment piece.  A small dragonfly was cut from the Blushing Bride Glimmer Paper to add some extra sparkle.

What do you think of this card?? I felt it was missing something?? Not sure.

Anyway, I think these challenges are good.  It makes you think a lot about your creating. It’s nice to steal away a little “me” time stamping too.

I hope you have a lot of creating opportunities this coming week.

Jenny

2 thoughts on “FALLING PETALS SPOTLIGHTING!

Leave a Reply

