cards, Stampin' Up!

SWIRLY BIRD PINWHEELS!

I have been having fun making samples with the Swirly Bird stamps and Swirly Scribbles Thinlits ready for my Swirly Bird Class tomorrow.  I just finished this card today and had to show you now.  I really liked how it turned out. I saw an idea for a type of pinwheel using it somewhere, I think on a group I am on??  So I thought I would have a play and see what I could come up with.  I wasn’t sure how it would work at first.  Here is the end result.

Pinwheel Swirly Bird

What do you think?  Pretty funky?

It’s a simple card in itself.  The colours for the pinwheels are from the top right: Emerald Envy and Wild Wasabi; Dapper Denim and Tempting Turquoise; Flirty Flamingo and Melon Mambo and Peekaboo Peach and Tangerine Tango. I only realised as I got to the last one that I was using the new Incolors. 🙂  The “spots” from the stamp set and stamped in Daffodil Delight.  The sentiment is from ‘Guy Greetings’.  I went through all my stamp sets and thought this font really suited.

The Rhinestones were coloured with a Black Sharpie to add to the centres.  The white card was then adhered to a Basic Black mat and the base card is Tangerine Tango.

These pinwheels were really fun to do and being a clear set you can see through the block to line up each stamp.  I stamped the shape running across lengthways first and then inked the stamp again and flipped it to run across the other direction.  Then inked the other colour and stamped  to line up the long edge with the shorter edge already stamped if that makes sense?? I think I will have to try some more cards with these pinwheels!

Go and make some funky pinwheels for yourself.  Of course, you need the Swirly Bird stamp set to do this.  If you haven’t already got it and the Swirly Scribbles  Thinlits you better buy it.  This is such a fun and versatile set.  Get it as a Bundle and save 10%.

swirly bird

If you are in Australia you can order it through me if you don’t already have a Demonstrator.  Head to my Store HERE and place your order or contact me directly.

Thanks for visiting me today.

Jenny

13 thoughts on “SWIRLY BIRD PINWHEELS!”

  1. I tried making this card but the stamps were so big I could only get 3 on the card (A2 size). What size card did you make with these?

    Like

    1. Hi Sharon. The white card size for the piece you are stamping on is 14cm x 9.7cm which is approximately 5 1/2″ x 3 3/4″. I know the US standard card size is a little different. Perhaps you can stamp one or 2 full pinwheels first and have 1 or 2 just off the card a little depending on how you place them?? See how that works. If you still find it a problem maybe you can stamp a sentiment on scrap card and place that over a pinwheel slightly. Hope that helps?

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.